How to Become an Auto Insurance Agent in Florida
Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Auto insurance coverage protects drivers against financial loss in the event of an accident. Florida, like other states, requires insurance coverage for all motorists. Mandatory insurance coverage not only protects motorists but it also creates opportunities for anyone seeking a career as an auto insurance agent.
Auto insurance agents sell policies to motorists who need coverage. Strong communication and sales skills are assets for anyone pursuing a career as an auto insurance agent. And if you plan on working in Florida, knowledge of the state’s insurance laws (and an insurance license) are not only assets, they're necessities.
Meet the pre-licensing educational requirement. Complete the 25-hour course in Motor Vehicle Physical Damage and Mechanical Breakdown Insurance. Find a state-approved education provider by searching the database located at the Department of Financial Services (DFS) website.
Submit an application. Apply online on the DFS website. Click the "Licensure" tab. Under "My Profile," click "My profile information." Create an account. In the process of creating an account, you will complete the licensing application. Once DFS approves your application, they will send you an authorization notice. You must have this notice before registering for the state licensing exam.
Get fingerprinting. Contact one of the DFS-designated sites listed on the DFS website under Licensure and Compliance. Contact a vendor and arrange to have your fingerprints taken. You can register online or contact a vendor by phone. The fingerprints are used for conducting criminal background checks.
Read the candidate handbook. DFS encourages applicants to read the handbook before registering for the state licensing exam. The handbook is available for free on the Pearson Vue website at www.pearsonvue.com. Click the "Test Taker Services" tab. Choose "Insurance and Florida Department of Financial Services," and under "Testing Services," select "Candidate handbook."
Take the exam. Register online on the Pearson Vue website. Click "Test Taker Services" tab. Select "Insurance" category, and choose "Florida Department of Financial Services." Click "Register for an Exam." From there you have the option of entering your ID and password or creating a new account.
After you are registered, schedule an exam date. Pearson Vue has a list of testing centers on their website. Contact Pearson Vue online or by phone with a date and time that you are available to take the exam. Once you pass the exam, you will receive your test score along with a wallet-sized license and photo.
As of early 2010, a license application is $50, fingerprints are $58.25, the state exam is $56.00 and a license I.D. is $5.00.
Continuing education is required before renewing your license. Licenses are renewed every two years.
- As of early 2010, a license application is $50, fingerprints are $58.25, the state exam is $56.00 and a license I.D. is $5.00.
- Continuing education is required before renewing your license. Licenses are renewed every two years.
Based in Little Rock, Rachel Moore began her freelance writing career in 1993. Her articles have appeared in the Arkansas "Democrat Gazette," Little Rock "Free Press" and the "Arkansas Times." Moore holds a Bachelor of Arts in political science/pre-law from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.