Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Becoming a process server in Oklahoma does not require any special training or testing. However, a private process server in Oklahoma must be at least 18 years old and of good moral character. Process servers must also be licensed and bonded in the State of Oklahoma before they can begin working.
Pick-up the private process server application form that is available in the county clerk's office of your county. Fill-in the information requested by the application and then have the form notarized before you return it.
Pay the licensing fee for the type of process server license you would prefer to hold. In Oklahoma there are two types of process server licenses to choose from. If you prefer to work only locally, a county license for $35 is available. However, if you intend to work in a larger range of counties, a statewide process-serving license is available for a fee of $150. You must pay your license fee at the time you submit the application to the county clerk.
Post a bond of $5,000 with the State of Oklahoma after your process server license is approved by the judge. The bond should be paid to the court clerk. This bond must be posted as a type of insurance that you will perform your duties scrupulously and diligently. Once your license is granted by a judge, your bond must be posted with the state before you can begin working.
After a process server application is received, it will then be forwarded to a judge. The judge will consider approving your license based on your application and a subsequent criminal background checkr. If you opt for a statewide license, you must file a copy of your process-serving license in the county clerk's office of each county in which you intend to work. All county clerks in the state of Oklahoma must keep a list of eligible process servers posted in their offices.
After the application fee is paid, there is a waiting period of five days before a application will be given to a judge for consideration. During that time, a copy of the application is sent to the district attorney and all local law enforcement agencies so that they make look into your background. They may protest your application during those five days if they find any disturbing criminal history. Any protest means there must be a hearing before the judge will consider granting a process-server license.
- white note pad against a green background image by Piter Pkruger from Fotolia.com