Growth Trends for Related Jobs
To get an Alabama real estate license, you must first complete 60 hours of prelicensing coursework. After finishing the classes, you must then take and pass a state licensing exam.
Complete Education and Training
The 60 hours of real estate classes must be from a program approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission. The commission has a list of approved education providers on its website. Broker applicants must complete an additional 60 hours of broker education and hold a salesperson's license for at least two of the previous three years.
Prelicensing course options are available in-person and online. After you get your initial license, salespeople have to take another 30 hours of post-licensing courses. Brokers don't have additional class requirements. Agents take an additional 15 clock hours of real estate classes every two years for renewal as well.
Pass State Exam
Both sales agents and brokers must pass a state licensing exam within 12 months of completing required real estate classes. Exams are available at center locations through the state.
Testing is administered by Applied Measurement Professionals on scheduled week days from 9:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. There are no walk-ins. The fee for the exam is $75, as of March 2015, payable at the time you take it.
Meet Other Licensing Requirements
To get an Alabama license, you must be at least 19 years old, according to the Alabama Real Estate Institute. You must be a legal resident of the United States. You must submit to a criminal background check. While not all crimes preclude licensing, those involving moral turpitude typically do.
Alabama candidates must also have a high school diploma or its equivalent. After obtaining a real estate license, you can become a Realtor by joining a local office of the National Association of Realtors.
Alabama real estate applicants must show proof of residency at the time of licensing, or they have to meet reciprocal licensing standards when coming from out of state. Out-of-state real estate agents still have to take six hours of Alabama real estate laws classes and complete the reciprocal licensing exam within 12 months.
Broker applicants have the same requirement to complete six hours of legal classes and a broker's reciprocal exam.
Neil Kokemuller has been an active business, finance and education writer and content media website developer since 2007. He has been a college marketing professor since 2004. Kokemuller has additional professional experience in marketing, retail and small business. He holds a Master of Business Administration from Iowa State University.