The work of a title insurance agent in Florida can be complex. Title insurance is designed to protect owners of a certain property from title (ownership) claims made against that property. A title agent's responsibilities can include selling this insurance, managing customer accounts, finding state and county records on the property and performing administrative tasks. In Florida, as in many states, title agents must be licensed. This process is thoroughly detailed in the Florida statutes.
Make sure that you meet the basic requirements to take the examination to become a title agent. All title agents in Florida must pass a state title insurance examination. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and must be a U.S. citizen or a legal resident with government-granted authority to work in the United States.
Fulfill the educational or employment requirement--a 40-hour classroom course in title insurance with three hours of instruction in ethics, or one year of full-time work experience in the area of title insurance under a licensed agent or company. An applicant has up to four years from the date of application to fulfill this requirement, but the earlier it is done, the better.
Pass a written examination given by the Department of Financial Services. The title insurance examination will cover general title insurance rules, abstracting, title searches, examination of title, closing procedures and escrow handling.
Fill out and submit a title insurance agent application with the Florida Department of Financial Services.
Obtain a credit and character report. For most title agents, the employer initiates and maintains this report. The report references the five-year period before the application was submitted and gives a detailed work history including any violations, criminal history if any, and a summary of the agent's credit history. Once issued, the license must be renewed every two years.