How to Get Property Management Licensing in Florida
Growth Trends for Related Jobs
When you live in the state of Florida and want to be a property manager, you must have the appropriate license required by the FREC (Florida Real Estate Commission). While some states actually require a “property manager” license to manage a property, the State of Florida is different. In Florida, there is no specific “property manager” license. Instead, you must obtain a real estate sales associate license.
Ensure that you meet the age and educational requirements to obtain licensing in Florida. You must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED.
Complete a real estate sales associate pre-licensing course that is approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission. The course must be a minimum of 63 hours.
Submit form DBPRRE1 in application for a real estate sales associate license. To complete the form visit the website for the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Click on the option to “Apply for a License.” You will see the option to apply online or print a paper application. As of 2010, the application fee was $105. The fee must be submitted at the time of application.
Visit an FREC approved electronic fingerprinting site to have your electronic fingerprints submitted. For a list of sites near you, call 877-238-8232. As of 2010, the fee for electronic fingerprints was $57.25.
Take and pass Florida's examination for real estate sales associates. You must score at least 75 percent on the exam in order to qualify for a license.
Wait to receive your real estate license in the mail. This can take anywhere from 7 to 10 business days.
Faizah Imani, an educator, minister and published author, has worked with clients such as Harrison House Author, Thomas Weeks III, Candle Of Prayer Company and "Truth & Church Magazine." Her dossier includes JaZaMM WebDesigns, assistant high-school band director, district manager for the Clarion Ledger and event coordinator for the Vicksburg Convention Center.