Growth Trends for Related Jobs
The state of New Jersey has several requirements that must be met before a business can engage in security operations. These prerequisites, which include criminal background checks and proof of past experience, help ensure that only qualified individuals carry firearms while performing security duties. The license for a new security company is valid for two years. After this period, the owners of the company must re-submit the application paperwork, and new background checks for all employees must be completed.
Apply For Approval
Review the minimum requirements mandated by the New Jersey State Police for all security companies. The owner of a security company must be over the age of 25, and must have at least five years of relevant work experience in the law enforcement field.
Complete the initial paper application form. This is available from the State Police, and must include information regarding individual qualifications and the structure of the new company. Obtain written letters of recommendation from five or more reputable citizens, and include them with the application. These citizens must have known the owner of the security company for at least three years.
Pay the required application fee to the New Jersey State Police. This fee is $300 and is not refundable. Include the money with the completed application and letters of recommendation.
Submit a written consent form for a full criminal background check. With this consent, also submit a full set of fingerprints to the State Police. These fingerprints must be on an official card, and the fingerprinting process must be completed by a state qualified agency or company.
Complete License Requirements
Purchase a bond from a certified New Jersey surety company for $5,000. This bond is used to ensure that any liabilities incurred by the new security company are covered. Proof of the surety bond must be provided to the superintendent of the State Police once the application has been accepted.
Pay the State Police a non-refundable $500 fee for each operating location for the security business. This amount must be paid for each branch or office where employees of the company will be working.
Notify the State Police if new office locations are added to the business, or if a new individual takes ownership of the company. All new owners must undergo a new background check and application process.
Job Description of a General Manager of a Security Company→
How to Start a Towing Business in Virginia→
Colorado Requirements to Become an Armed Security Guard→
How to Become a Private Investigator in Maryland→
How to Become a Licensed Security Guard in Boise Idaho→
How to Become a Bail Bondsman in Georgia→
Benjamin Aries has been involved in digital media for much of his life and began writing professionally in 2009. He has lived in several different states and countries, and currently writes while exploring different parts of the world. Aries specializes in technical subjects. He attended Florida State University.