Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Child care providers care for young children while parents are working outside of the home. These professionals provide organized activities, social interaction, and stimulating experiences for children to promote development. Kansas requires child care providers to apply for a license before starting this business. You will need to meet minimum requirements, fill out application materials, and learn about mandatory child abuse reporting laws in the state to open your child care business.
Meet Kansas minimum requirements. Child care providers must be at least 18 years of age. The provider must also have at least a high school diploma. An equivalent, such as a GED, is also acceptable.
Complete experience requirements. In addition to education and age requirements, Kansas requires child care providers to have at least six months of experience teaching children. If you don’t have this experience, you may complete five sessions (two hours each) of observation in a licensed day care. Contact the state of Kansas to find local day cares in the area.
Fill out a child care application. This application is available for download at the Kansas Department of Health and Environment department. Complete and return to the address included on the application.
Sign compliance documents included in the packet. There is a child abuse policy included in the application packet that highlights state mandatory reporting laws. Read and sign the document. The fire life safety agreement, which highlights safety regulations of child care facilities, must also be read and signed. Include both documents when mailing your application packet.
Pay the state licensing fee. There is a licensing fee of $15 that must accompany your application. Include a check or credit card information with the application.
Pass a background check. Kansas requires child care providers to submit an authorization form to run a background check. Passing this background check is a requirement for licensure. Other adults living in the home must also complete this form.
If you plan on caring for your own children, you must count them in the state’s ratio requirements. For example, you may care for up to five toddler-age children. If you have one toddler, you can care for four more.
Kansas requires child care providers to renew licenses every other year. The state will mail a renewal application when the date is getting close. A $15 fee must accompany your renewal application.
2016 Salary Information for Childcare Workers
Childcare workers earned a median annual salary of $21,170 in 2016, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. On the low end, childcare workers earned a 25th percentile salary of $18,680, meaning 75 percent earned more than this amount. The 75th percentile salary is $25,490, meaning 25 percent earn more. In 2016, 1,216,600 people were employed in the U.S. as childcare workers.
- If you plan on caring for your own children, you must count them in the state's ratio requirements. For example, you may care for up to five toddler-age children. If you have one toddler, you can care for four more.
- Kansas requires child care providers to renew licenses every other year. The state will mail a renewal application when the date is getting close. A $15 fee must accompany your renewal application.
Nicki Howell started her professional writing career in 2002, specializing in areas such as health, fitness and personal finance. She has been published at health care websites, such as HealthTree, and is a ghostwriter for a variety of small health care organizations. She earned a Bachelor of Science in business administration from Portland State University.