Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Bouncers have a lot of responsibility. Obviously they are responsible for removing violent patrons from the establishment that employs them, but the largest part of their job is customer service and conflict resolution. An effective bouncer can talk down a violent patron before a fight breaks out. Bouncers need to be licensed as security personnel in most states to work legally, and North Carolina is one of those states--anyone working in a security-related function (including bouncers) in the state must be licensed by the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board.
Meet the mandatory criteria for bouncers as set by North Carolina law. You must be at least 18 years old and have either a high school diploma or GED. You must be a U.S. citizen or a legal alien with a green card.
Pass a background check. You cannot have any felonies on your record at all--if you do, you cannot legally work as a bouncer in North Carolina.
Complete a 16-hour state-certified course covering state laws, job responsibilities and the legal ramifications of arrests and detentions. You will have to pass a state test at the end of the course with a score of 80 percent or higher.
Pay all the required fees for the class, test, and background check. The fees amount to about $140.
It will take several weeks for your license to be processed and sent to you. You will not be legally able to work as a bouncer until you have possession of your license.
Your license will last for two years in North Carolina; it is then subject to a renewal fee.
- north carolina outline image by Kim Jones from Fotolia.com