How to Obtain a License to Perform Marriages in Florida
Growth Trends for Related Jobs
If you love weddings and dream of officiating them, a career as a wedding officiant may be right for you. The state of Florida has simple laws regarding who can officiate weddings, but unlike many other states, there is no "justice of the peace" position. Learn more about the requirements for officiating a marriage and how to get a license to officiate them.
Check the current Florida law before proceeding. See the resources below for Florida laws pertaining to marriage officiants. As of September 2009, the state mandates that only church ministers, court clerks, judicial officers and notary publics can officiate legal marriages. This means the simplest way to become licensed in marriage officiation is to become a notary public.
Register for a notary preparation course. Courses are available face-to-face and online. The state mandates that first-time notary applicants must take three hours of training before applying to become a notary public.
Complete your application to become a notary public. The state recommends using the service that trains you to apply. These services will not only give you the required education, they will help you submit your application and obtain Errors and Omissions insurance, a requirement for notary publics. If you apply on your own, obtain Errors and Omissions insurance before approval.
Wait for your license and your notary stamp with your state seal and license number. Once you receive these items, you can legally officiate or perform marriages anywhere in Florida.
The state of Florida recommends shopping around between notary certification providers. The state fee of $39 is non-negotiable, but the provider may add other charges.
Check the latest requirements for becoming a Florida notary public. As of September 2009, you must be 18 and a Florida resident.
- The state of Florida recommends shopping around between notary certification providers. The state fee of $39 is non-negotiable, but the provider may add other charges.
- Check the latest requirements for becoming a Florida notary public. As of September 2009, you must be 18 and a Florida resident.
Leonardo R. Grabkowski has been writing professionally for more than four years. Grabkowski attended college in Oregon. He builds websites on the side and has a slight obsession with Drupal, Joomla and Wordpress.