Anyone wishing to sell insurance or adjust claims in the state of Texas is required to get a Texas insurance license. To obtain the license, you need to have knowledge of the laws and regulations affecting the insurance industry and governing the actions insurance agents may take.
Insurance regulations, including licensing requirements, are designed to protect the public. Insurance agents must always act with honesty and integrity in the best interests of their clients. A Texas insurance license must be renewed every two years. In order to renew, the agent must complete 30 hours of continuing education.
Determine the type of license you need. There are several types of Texas insurance licenses, including life; accident and health; property and casualty; and adjuster. The insurance company for which you will be working can tell you what kind of license you will need if you are not sure.
Get sponsored. In order to qualify for a license, you must be appointed by an insurance company at the time of your insurance license application, or within 30 days.
Study for the exam. The examination for a Texas insurance license covers a wide range of the insurance code. The testing company provides course outlines with links to applicable sections of the code; however, most candidates will find it useful to purchase study materials or take an online or in-person course to prepare for the exam. The Texas Department of Insurance provides links to companies offering prelicensing education.
Get fingerprinted. State law requires that candidates be fingerprinted and a criminal background check run. This can be arranged through the testing company.
Register for and schedule your exam. There are testing centers throughout the state of Texas and across the country. Choose a testing center and make an appointment to take the test.
Take and pass the licensing exam. Plan to show up early, and do not bring anyone with you. The test consists of multiple choice questions. It is taken on a computer and you are instantly given your results.
Submit all required documentation to the state. This includes a notarized application form, your fingerprint card and other documents.