Pompe à chaleur image by mattmatt73 from Fotolia.com

HVAC CFC Certification

Growth Trends for Related Jobs

According to the Clean Air Act of 1990, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requires heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) technicians who dispose of refrigerants to possess a chlorofluorocarbon (CFC) certification. CFC refrigerants that leak have been found to deplete the ozone layer.


The EPA requires HVAC technicians to obtain one of four CFC certifications. The areas are Type I (covers small appliances), Type II (high-pressure and very high-pressure appliances) and Type III (low-pressure appliances). Universal certification is granted to HVAC technicians who have earned all three other types of CFC certification.


Technician certifications are completed at agencies and organizations approved by the EPA. The HVAC Pro, an HVAC/CFC certification agency of Ferris State University in Big Rapids, Michigan, holds one-day certification classes for HVAC techs in locations including New Orleans, Montgomery, Alabama, and Newark, Delaware. Classes are taught by CFC-certified individuals, and students are required to pass an exam. Classroom instruction includes refrigerant history and chemistry, legislation and regulations, refrigerant systems and components, and high- and low-pressure systems. Southwestern Community College in West Burlington, Iowa, offers a one-day universal certification course.


As of November 2010, the HVAC Pro charges $285 for CFC certification testing and instruction. Southwestern CC training and testing costs $195.



About the Author

Tonya Whitaker has worked as a professional journalist and copy editor since 1998. She has written columns and features for "The Huntsville Item" and "North Dallas Gazette." Whitaker earned a Bachelor of Science in sociology from Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas, and is pursuing a Master of Arts in English from Texas Woman's University in Denton, Texas.

Photo Credits

  • Pompe à chaleur image by mattmatt73 from Fotolia.com