Army Overseas Service Ribbon Requirements

Growth Trends for Related Jobs

The United States Army has several service ribbons for soldiers who meet eligibility requirements and file the appropriate request. The Army Overseas Service Ribbon is for soldiers who have completed any overseas tour of service since August 1981. The ribbon may be awarded posthumously to soldiers who die in the line of duty.

History And Purpose

According to Army regulations, the Army Overseas Service Ribbon was “established by the Secretary of the Army on 10 April 1981 as announced in Department of the Army General Order 15, 10 October 1990.” Soldiers who complete an overseas tour of duty are eligible for the ribbon.

Dates Of Overseas Service

Army personnel who complete any overseas tour of service after 1 August 1981 are eligible for the Overseas Service Ribbon. Those who completed an overseas tour before this date may receive the ribbon retroactively (back-dated) as long as they were an active Army soldier on or after that date.

Eligible Military Members

Soldiers eligible for this ribbon are active duty, National Guard and Reserve. Although this ribbon was established by the Army, military members from the other branches can also receive this award. The eligibility requirements for other branches are similar: Completion of a service tour as defined by their branch, between 1 August 1981 and the present.

Eligible Tours Of Service

Soldiers who served an overseas tour must successfully complete their tour to be eligible for the ribbon. Definitions for “successful completion” of an Army overseas tour are listed in AR 614-30, Table 3-2.

Second And Subsequent Awards

Soldiers awarded two or more ribbons will wear an Arabic numeral on the ribbon, according to how many awards they have received.

Posthumous Award

On or after 1 August 1981, those who die in the line of duty may be awarded the Army Overseas Service Ribbon. The soldier's death must be officially listed as “Line of duty-Yes.”