Growth Trends for Related Jobs
According to their website, the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) regulates the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (RRP), commonly referred to as DUI schools. These schools provide an intervention program mandated by law for people convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), possession of illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, or Boating Under the Influence (BUI). In order to open a DUI school, you must license your business through the state and have your business approved with the Driver Services division to operate it legally in Georgia.
How to Apply for a Business License for a DUI School in Georgia
Find a location for your business. The Georgia Allies and the Georgia Department of Economic Development offer an online database of all available buildings in Georgia. The Zoning Enforcement Division of your city will approve this location. Ensure that public transportation is nearby since many of your clients will have suspended driver's licenses.
Name your business and register the name with the Clerk of the Superior Court for the county which the business is located in. Contact your local Clerk to determine the requirements.
Set up the business structure of the company. According to Business.gov, if your business is a corporation, a non-profit, a limited liability company, or a partnership (limited, or limited liability), you must register with the state of Georgia. If your business is a sole proprietorship, you do not need to register your business with the state. Register it with the Georgia Secretary of State through their website.
Contact your local city government directly to obtain an application for a Business Tax Registration Certificate, also known as a Business License, for your DUI school. You will need picture identification, the application, proof of incorporation (if applicable), business address, business name, an estimate of gross revenue from the business, start date to the end of the year, and an application fee.
Submit the application to your local city government in person or by mail. This will allow you to obtain your tax identification number after approval, needed to register your business with the state of Georgia, through the Georgia Department of Revenue. You will need to register separately with the U.S. Internal Revenue Service to obtain your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).
How to Obtain Approval for Your DUI School in Georgia
Obtain the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program Owner Application online through the Georgia Department of Driver's Services website. All partners, corporate officers, and controlling stockholders must fill in their name, address, phone number, Social Security number, date of birth, and driver's license number on the forms. Include all business information, such as address, phone number, website, and employee information.
Agree to a fingerprint-based background check through the the Georgia Applicant Processing System (GAPS), for each owner of the company. All owners must submit a notarized Consent for Background Investigation with the application, along with a recent photo of each owner taken within the past 30 days of application submission. For owners licensed in a state (or states) other than Georgia in the past 5 years, submit a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR) from each state, except Georgia.
Submit proof of a continuous surety bond from a bonding company authorized to conduct business in the state of Georgia in the sum of $10,000 for each program location. Include proof of a fire code inspection of the program location, dated within 90 days of filing the application, showing no violations, a copy of the business license, and a copy of the program's business hours.
Include a copy of the Certificate of Incorporation from the Secretary of State for an incorporated business and submit a notarized certification of the adopted business name. Obtain the certification from the Clerk of the Superior Court in the county of the program's location. In addition, include copies of student assessment and intervention contracts, pre-numbered and preprinted with program address and phone number.
Submit a notarized letter appointing one or more individuals as program director. Each director listed must submit a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program Director Application. The director must also include an official college transcript awarding an undergraduate or graduate degree in education, social sciences, counseling, law, business, or related field. Alternately, a director can document at least two previous years of relevant work experience, of at least 20 or more paid hours per week, in alcohol and drug prevention and intervention education, substance-abuse counseling, operation or management of a service-oriented business, or teaching adolescents or adults.
Submit a signed Instructor Letter of Intent from each certified DUI instructor who will teach at your program. If not certified, applicants can submit a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program Instructor Application to become certified. Applicants must demonstrate previous educational or work experience in a human service related field through an undergraduate or graduate degree and 2-3 years of work in teaching or counseling work experience as a licensed, certified, or credentialed substance abuse counselor with at least 6 months of experience in group counseling or group facilitation.
Complete, sign, date, and notarize the application. All applicants must complete and sign the application. Send all application materials, along with the application to:
Georgia Department of Driver Services Attn: Regulatory Compliance Division 2206 East View Parkway Conyers, Georgia 30013
A drop box for applications submitted in person is also available at the entrance of the Conyers Customer Service Center.
A Risk Reduction Program must operate at least 15 hours per week.
Criminal history may adversely affect your application with the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
Georgia Defensive Driving Instructor Requirements→
Business Licenses in Columbus, Georgia→
How to Become a Driver Education Instructor in North Carolina→
How to Become a Certified Driving Instructor in Florida→
How to Become a DUI Instructor in Georgia→
How To Renew a Certification for CNA if Expired in Georgia→
- Business.gov: Starting a Business in Georgia
- Georgia Department of Driver Services: DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program Owner Application
- Georgia Department of Driver Services: DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program Instructor Application
- Georgia Department of Driver Services: DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program Director Application
- Georgia Facts: Available Buildings in Georgia
- Georgia Superior Court Clerk's Cooperative Authority: Superior Court Clerks
- Georgia Secretary of State: Corporations Division
- Georgia Department of Driver Services: Forms and Manuals
- Georgia Department of Driver Services: DUI Frequently Asked Questions
- Georgia Chamber of Commerce: Membership Directory
Based in Las Vegas, Susan Paretts has been writing since 1998. She writes about many subjects including pets, finances, crafts, food, home improvement, shopping and going green. Her articles, short stories and reviews have appeared on City National Bank's website and on The Noseprint. Paretts holds a Master of Professional Writing from the University of Southern California.