How to Become a Bail Bondsman in Oklahoma
Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Bail bondsman post bail for people in jail. The job requires you to interact with potential criminals and requires a confident personality and strong demeanor. If you want to get a job as a bail bondsman in Oklahoma, expect to invest three to four months at minimum in the process. The state regulates the industry through an education course, exam and application procedure.
Contact the Oklahoma Bondsmen Association for a list of upcoming education classes. Sign up for a prelicensing class that meets your schedule. As of February 2011, prelicensing classes cost $1,200 and run for 16 hours, per the state's insurance code.
Pay $200 to reserve your spot in the class, up to seven days before the class. When your prelicensing class begins, pay the remaining balance.
Attend the class to learn the state protocols for processing bail, working as a bail bondsman and professional ethics. When you are finished with the class, obtain a "Certificate of Completion" from the instructor, which you need as proof you took the class.
Obtain an exam application from the Oklahoma Insurance Department. The state will review your application and qualifications, verifying you took the course. Wait until you receive the "Examination Admission Notice" in the mail to register for the exam.
Register for the exam to get your Oklahoma bail bondsman license. PSI is the Oklahoma bail bondsmen exam vendor. As of February 2011, the exam cost $100 and candidates must get a passing score of at least 70 percent. If you do not pass the test, wait three months, then retake. You can take the test three times in a year; after that, you must wait one more year to apply. PSI gives exams in Tulsa, Oklahoma City, Woodward and McAlester. The exam covers legal definitions, bondsmen trade practices and other bail bond issues.
Complete your bail bondsman application once you have passed the exam. Wait for the Oklahoma Insurance Department to review your application and send you a license within 90 days. Then you can begin working as a bail bondsman.
Oklahoma does not allow convicted felons or anyone convicted of a misdemeanor involving "moral turpitude" or "dishonesty" become bail agents. Additionally, you must be at least 21 and have a GED or high school diploma.
As of February 2011, you can cancel up to two days before the class begins for a full reimbursement.
A successful website writer since 1998, Elton Dunn has demonstrated experience with technology, information retrieval, usability and user experience, social media, cloud computing, and small business needs. Dunn holds a degree from UCSF and formerly worked as professional chef. Dunn has ghostwritten thousands of blog posts, newsletter articles, website copy, press releases and product descriptions. He specializes in developing informational articles on topics including food, nutrition, fitness, health and pets.