How to Become Certified Daycare Provider in North Carolina
Growth Trends for Related Jobs
There are two types of certified child care providers in North Carolina. A Family Child Care home provides care for a maximum of five preschool children, or a maximum of eight if at least three of the children are school age (5 years old at the start of school year). A Child Care Center provides for more than five preschool children; the number of children the center can provide care for is determined by the size, completed inspections and local ordinances.
Family Child Care Home
Obtain an Application Packet from the Division of Child Development. You can obtain a packet in person at 319 Chapanoke Road, Suite 120, Raleigh, NC 27603. You can also call the Division of Child Development at 919-662-4499 or at 800-859-0829 if you live in the state of North Carolina. There is a $3 fee for the Application Packet.
Use the printed materials form that comes with your Application Packet to purchase the Family Child Care handbook. The Application Packet also contains age and education requirements, an operator checklist, and application forms.
Complete a criminal background check for anyone over 15 years old that will be in the household when the children are present. This includes the person who will operate the Family Child Care.
Complete the application forms in accordance with the Family Child Care handbook and mail them to the child care consultant listed on your packet.
The consultant will contact you within two weeks to schedule a visit to your home. The consultant will also assist you in completing the application process. A license will be issued once you have satisfied all requirements.
Child Care Center
Obtain a Basic Information for Potential Providers booklet. You can obtain the booklet in person at 319 Chapanoke Road, Suite 120, Raleigh, NC 27603. You can also call the Division of Child Development at 919-662-4499 or at 800-859-0829 if you live in North Carolina.
Complete the Prelicensing Workshop registration form included in the booklet. The two-day workshop costs $100 for one person and provides you with one Child Care Handbook.
You will receive the name and number of the licensing supervisor in your area. Contact him and ask him to assign you a child care consultant.
The child care consultant will schedule multiple prelicensing visits with you to discuss child care requirements and assist you in completing the application process. A license will be issued once you have satisfied all requirements.
Read the Summary of North Carolina Child Care Laws that can be found at the North Carolina Division of Child Care Development website.
How to Become a Licensed Child Care Provider in Charlotte, North Carolina→
How to Obtain a Missouri Daycare License→
How to Open a Daycare in Wyoming→
How to Renew a CNA Certificate in California→
Requirements to Open a Day Care Center in South Carolina→
How to Start an Adult Foster Care Home in Michigan→
- Read the Summary of North Carolina Child Care Laws that can be found at the North Carolina Division of Child Care Development website.
Manny Jeter began writing in 2005. He has written for the newspaper "Daily Collegian" and the website CampusLive. Jeter completed the entrepreneurial initiative workshop and earned a Bachelor of Arts in journalism at the University of Massachusetts.