Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Mediators in Minnesota are not required to obtain an official state-issued certificate or license, but practicing mediators must be approved to work by the Minnesota Supreme Court. The Minnesota Supreme Court requires mediators to attend a court-approved mediation training program. General civil suit mediators must attend a 30-hour mediation training program that is offered throughout the state at various institutions. Those who are interested in mediating family law cases must attend a 40-hour training course, with an emphasis on family law and procedure, to be eligible to work in the state.
Enroll in one of the qualified mediation training programs for civil or family law mediation. The Minnesota Supreme Court website has a current list of recommended schools. The course-load will vary depending on the type of mediation training you decide to enter, as will the price, depending on the school. The average mediation training program in Minnesota costs between $800 and $1,000.
Apply to be added to the Minnesota Court-Approved Neutral Roster after you successfully complete the necessary training. The application requires you to indicate which court-approved training program you attended. You must also specify if you would like to be added to a mediator list for all Minnesota counties or if you only wish to work in certain areas.
Write a check for the $60 application fee and make it payable to Education & Organization Development Division. Send the completed application and processing fee payment to:
Education & Organization Development Division Alternative Dispute Resolution Program 120 Minnesota Resolution Program 25 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd St. Paul, MN 55155-1500
Mediators in Minnesota are also known as neutrals. Qualified neutrals must pay an annual renewal fee of $35 and complete six continuing education credits a year to remain on the Court-Approved Neutral Roster.