Growth Trends for Related Jobs
The Illinois Department of Insurance requires a license to sell insurance. The state uses the term "insurance producer" to describe an insurance agent. Candidates must attend an approved course of study and pass an exam to obtain an Illinois producer's license. Producers must complete a separate course and exam for each kind of insurance. Those who put the time and effort into completing their insurance education can diversify and sell multiple kinds of insurance in Illinois.
Complete 20 hours of approved insurance courses for the following types of Illinois insurance licenses: Life, Accident and Health, Fire, Casualty, Property and Personal Lines--Property and Casualty. You must complete 7.5 of these hours in the classroom. The Motor Vehicle course requires 12.5 hours of education, with at least five hours in the classroom. Use the provider search engine on the Illinois Department of Insurance website to find an approved course provider. Speak to providers for details on each course. Save your study materials and notes to use when preparing for the exam. Keep your certificate from each course to take to the exam.
Use your course materials in conjunction with the content outlines to prepare for the exam. Pearson VUE gives to course providers the material used to make the exam, so the courses cover the necessary material to prepare for the insurance exams. Use the content outlines to focus on the specific topics on the exams.
Schedule an exam for each course that you complete. Pearson VUE is the private company that administers the Illinois insurance exams. As of 2010, each exam is $103, payable by credit card, debit card, electronic check or voucher. You can get a voucher request in the candidate handbook to pay by money order, cashier's check or company check. Make payments payable to "Pearson VUE." Send the fee and voucher request to the following address:
Pearson VUE c/o AP Voucher Program P.O. Box 41508 Philadelphia, PA 19101-1508 800-274-0402 pearsonvue.com
Call 800-274-0402 to schedule your exam. You may also register and schedule exams at the Pearson VUE website. Take all scheduled exams. Use the information in your score report to schedule any retake examinations that you fail. Retain the "picture application" provided by Pearson VUE when you pass an exam.
Fill out the "Uniform Application for Individual Producer License/Application" form, located on the National Insurance Producer Registry website. As of 2010, the fee is $180 for residents and $250 for non-residents of Illinois. Non-residents who already have a license in another state do not have to take the courses or exam. Pay by check or money order to the "Director of Insurance." Send the application, "picture application" from Pearson VUE and the fee to the following address:
Producer Section Illinois Department of Insurance 320 W Washington Street Springfield, IL 62767-0001 217-782-4515 insurance.Illinois.gov
Have your school send the certificate of completion to the Department of Insurance. You will receive your license to do business as an Illinois insurance agent only if the school sends the certificate.
The licensing fee covers the first two years. You must pay an identical fee every two years to maintain your license.
- The licensing fee covers the first two years. You must pay an identical fee every two years to maintain your license.
Jimmy Boyd has a law degree from Thomas M. Cooley Law School. He has been writing articles on law and a variety of other topics since 2004. His work appears at Lead-Generation-Tips.com, eHow and Hubpages.com.