Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Completing 60 clock hours of prelicensing classwork and passing the class with a 70 percent score is the first major requirement for getting a Connecticut real estate license. You also have to pass the Connecticut State Real Estate Examination for Salespersons.
Primary License Requirements
The 60-hour class centers on real estate principles and practices, along with emphasis on Connecticut property laws. To become a broker, you must complete additional classes and work successfully as an agent for two full years.
After finishing the coursework, submit your application and class documentation to the State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Real Estate Commission to take the salesperson's exam. An aspiring broker must also pass the Connecticut State Real Estate Examination for Brokers.
Sales agents are required to have affiliation with a broker. If you aren't affiliated within 12 months of getting an agent's license, you must re-test and reapply for a license. Candidates must also be at least 18 years old before applying for a Connecticut real estate license.
After getting licensed, you can become a member of the National Association of Realtors by joining a local office. Members agree to abide by a code of ethics and benefit from enhanced marketing opportunities.
Neil Kokemuller has been an active business, finance and education writer and content media website developer since 2007. He has been a college marketing professor since 2004. Kokemuller has additional professional experience in marketing, retail and small business. He holds a Master of Business Administration from Iowa State University.