Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Education Needed to Become a Chiropractor in Florida
Chiropractors manipulate the musculoskeletal system to treat health conditions and disease. Chiropractic medicine is based on the theory that musculoskeletal misalignments put pressure on the body resulting in a compromised immune system, which increases the possibility of illness and health conditions. The Florida Department of Health requires licensure for chiropractors practicing in the state.
Candidates for a license in Florida must complete a bachelor’s degree program before entering a chiropractic college. An undergraduate program includes courses in chemistry, biology, psychology, physics, English and social science courses. The course must be a minimum of 90 semester hours leading to a bachelor’s degree to qualify.
A chiropractic program includes classroom education, clinical experience and laboratory work. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, a chiropractic program has 4,200 hours of education and training at a minimum. Classroom training includes courses in anatomy, physiology, microbiology, biochemistry, pathology and public health. The final two years of the four-year program trains chiropractic students in spinal manipulations and chiropractic techniques. The Florida Department of Health requires chiropractic license candidates complete a chiropractic program from an accredited institution.
An applicant for a chiropractor’s license in Florida must pass the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners certification exam to qualify to practice in the state. The examination tests the knowledge of the candidate. The chiropractic examination consists of three written sections of the exam and one practical section, which tests the practical skills and techniques of the candidate. Florida requires candidates pass the written parts of the examination for licensure in the state.
The Florida Department of Health requires chiropractic physicians complete 40 hours of continuing education every two years to renew the license to practice. The state requires chiropractors to complete specific courses for renewal including one hour of risk management, two hours in Florida rules and laws, two hours on medical error prevention, two hours in ethics training and six hours in record keeping and documentation.
Luanne Kelchner works out of Daytona Beach, Florida and has been freelance writing full time since 2008. Her ghostwriting work has covered a variety of topics but mainly focuses on health and home improvement articles. Kelchner has a degree from Southern New Hampshire University in English language and literature.