Growth Trends for Related Jobs

What Holidays Does the U.S. Post Office Observe?

careertrend article image

The United States Postal Service observes 10 official holidays each year. If the holiday falls on a Sunday, the USPS will observe the following Monday as its official holiday. It will not pick up or deliver mail on observed holidays, and patrons cannot use the USPS's redelivery services or set up a hold-mail order on observed holidays.

New Years Day

The first day of each year, January 1, is a federal holiday observed by the USPS.

Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday

The USPS observes the birthday of Martin Luther King Jr. each January to honor his contributions to ending segregation.

Washington's Birthday

The birthdays of presidents George Washington and Abraham Lincoln are observed each February on Washington's Birthday, also known as President's Day.

Memorial Day

Memorial Day is observed each May in honor of the men and women who have died while serving in the U.S. armed forces.

Independence Day

The USPS also observes July 4, the date marking the anniversary of the country's 1776 declaration of independence from British rule, as a holiday.

Labor Day

Labor Day, the first Monday in September, celebrates the American workers and their social and economic achievements.

Columbus Day

Columbus Day is observed as a federal holiday each October in honor of Christopher Columbus, an Italian navigator whose four voyages of exploration in the New World spurred European colonization of what is now the U.S.

Veteran's Day

Veteran’s Day is observed on November 11th in remembrance of the lives that were lost by U.S. soldiers in World War I. Veteran's Day is also known as Armistice Day.


Thanksgiving is celebrated each November in remembrance of the first harvest feast between Pilgrims and Native Americans after the Pilgrims arrival in present-day Massachusetts. Thanksgiving is observed on the fourth Thursday of November.


Traditionally recognized as a religious holiday, Christmas has evolved as into a holiday to celebrate with family, even if no religious customs are observed. Congress established Christmas as a U.S. federal holiday in 1870. Christmas is observed on December 25th each year or the following Monday if the 25th happens to fall on a Sunday.


Based in southern Virginia, Kristy Robinson has been writing for various websites since 2008. Her work focuses on tutorials and self-help articles. Robinson holds a Bachelor of Science in criminal justice from American InterContinental University.

Photo Credits