Growth Trends for Related Jobs
Driving instructors in Ohio take on the responsibility of teaching the knowledge and skills necessary for new drivers to receive their driver's licenses. To legally call yourself an Ohio driving instructor, you must receive a license from the Ohio Department of Public Safety. Licensing requirements are strict and require a background check, a test of your physical fitness and a test of your road knowledge and skills. You must also have earned and kept your driver's license for at least five years.
Take an approved 40-hour instructor's course in driver training at an Ohio college, university or driver training school. A passing score brings a certificate valid for 10 years.
Take the instructor training test. This encompasses an eye test, a written test of your knowledge of the rules and laws of the road and a practical test of your driving skills.
Get fingerprinted. Go to one of the National Background Check, Inc. offices and have your prints electronically scanned. They will directly link the results with your application.
Request your Bureau of Motor Vehicles driving record. Fill out the form and send it to:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Attn: Records Request P.O. Box 16520 Columbus, OH 43216-6520
The request should cost $5. Make your check or money order to Ohio Treasurer Kevin L. Boyce. The abstract you receive is good for only 60 days prior to the date your instructor application is received.
Get a physical. You must have your doctor sign and date a letter attesting that you are physically and mentally healthy and not addicted to any drug or medicine that may affect your ability to drive or instruct students. This note is good for one year.
Send in your application. You will need to include your supporting documents and a check or money order for $25 payable to "Ohio Treasurer Kevin L. Boyce." Send the application to:
Ohio Department of Public Safety Attn: Driver Training App. P.O. Box 182081 Columbus, OH 43218-2081