Growth Trends for Related Jobs

How to Get Certified as a Phlebotomy Technician II

careertrend article image
Steve Debenport/E+/GettyImages

Most states do not have official regulations or guidelines regarding the practice of phlebotomy, with the exception of California. The California State Department of Public Health requires phlebotomists to attend a formal training program, gain considerable on-the-job experience and pass a certifying exam. The states offers three levels of phlebotomy certification to qualified applicants: Limited Phlebotomy Technician, Certified Phlebotomy Technician I and Certified Phlebotomy Technician II.

Obtain a high school diploma or GED certificate. Students pursuing a career in phlebotomy should complete coursework in biology, chemistry, physics, algebra, geometry, English and computer science. Students are also advised to learn a foreign language; phlebotomists work with patients from a plethora of nationalities and ethnic backgrounds.

Earn a phlebotomy technician I certification. This requires attending a phlebotomy technician training program approved by the Department of Public Health. Programs must provide students with a minimum 20 hours of basic classes and 20 hours of advanced classes; applicants with more than 1,040 hours of on-the-job experience only have to fulfill the advanced class requirement. Following graduation, candidates must successfully perform 50 venipunctures and 10 skin punctures on actual patients and pass a written phlebotomy exam.

Complete 20 additional hours of advanced classes at a phlebotomy training program approved by the Department of Public Health. As an admissions prerequisite, applicants will have to submit proof of being a Certified Phlebotomy Technician I, with a minimum 1,040 hours of on-the-job experience. During the program, students must successfully complete 20 arterial punctures under the supervision of a licensed Medical Doctor (MD), Physician Assistant (PA), Registered Nurse (RN), Clinical Laboratory Bioanalyst (CLB), Clinical Laboratory Scientist (CLS) or a Respiratory Care Practitioner (RCP).

Pass a written phlebotomy exam from a state-approved certifying organization. For exam eligibility, applicants must submit a certificate of completion from their training program.

Apply for Phlebotomy Technician II certification through the Department of Health Services. Along with the completed application, applicants must submit a $54 fee, as well as two current passport-sized photos. Candidates must also provide the following supporting documentation: official high school transcripts or a GED certificate, certificate of completion from a phlebotomy technician training program, proof of passing a certification exam and documentation verifying the successful completion of 50 venipunctures, 10 skin punctures and 20 arterial punctures.


Oubria Tronshaw specializes in topics related to parenting and business. She received a Bachelor of Arts in creative writing from the Santa Fe University of Art and Design, and a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing from Chicago State University. She currently teaches English at Harper Community College in the Chicago area.

Photo Credits

Steve Debenport/E+/GettyImages