Each state has unique regulations for sports agents, and the National Collegiate Athletic Association has regulations as to when an athlete can negotiate with an agent. Since agents often have to write legally binding contracts and study state and organizational regulations, many agents acquire a law degree beforehand.
Apply for certification with professional sports organizations. Each league certifies agents differently. NBA agents are certified by the National Basketball Players Association. Application fees are often expensive, as high as $1,000, and strict deadlines might apply. NFL Agents can only register in the month of January. Schedule any exams that are necessary for certification. NFL agents have to take a 60-question exam.
Attend all seminars or meetings required of agents. Usually, player associations and leagues have one mandatory meeting every year to review changes in regulations.
Apply for an agent’s license the state of Florida. Go the website and begin the application, providing your name, address, and social security number. According to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, sports agents that work with college athletes who declare for the pros are regulated by the state. You will be issued a license number and PIN number, which will allow you to access your information on its website.
Pay the initial application fee of $1,255. Remember that agents cannot have any violated any state regulations in the last year. For each new applicant, there is also an exam to schedule and take. Each applicant is also subject to a voluntary background check.
Keep your status active by paying the biennial $290 fee. You will need to go to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation to switch your status to active. Prospective clients may check your status before signing with you so it's best to stay active.