Working in the field of bail bonds means you will have to adhere to some of the most stringent laws while providing a service and keeping your business afloat. Bail bond work is without a doubt very challenging, but armed with the right information, you can become a bail bondsman in the state of Arkansas.
Provide evidence that you are a resident of the state of Arkansas. This is best done by providing a valid Arkansas driver's license. This will also come in handy to prove your identity and age.
Get an appointment with an insurance agency that deals in bail bonds, and a power of attorney. Becoming a bail bondsman means you will be responsible for large amounts of money. You need to keep those large amounts of money insured, and insurance helps keep you out of bankruptcy.
Pay all applicable fees. You must pay a $100 license fee, which is renewed annually. You are also required to pay a $25 exam fee for the written exam.
File with the Professional Bail Bond Company and Licensing Board. When you do this, you will also need to provide at least three written references regarding the validity of your business, your professional reputation and your experience in the field of bail bonds.
Complete the minimum 8-hour education course, and pass the written exam. The class and exam test you on your knowledge of the responsibilities and laws and regulations you will be operating under.
Supply evidence of a good personal and professional reputation. You must also prove that you are financially responsible and have not been convicted of a felony. This means you will be required to submit to and pass a background check.
Submit a set of fingerprint cards taken by the police, and pay the fingerprinting fee. Call your local police station for more information on how to set up an appointment for fingerprinting.
Set up your office space and hire your employees. Establish your filing and documentation procedures, along with the general administrative issues that go along with running a business.
Network with other bail bondsmen. Develop good contacts with the local sheriff's office and court clerks.
Prove that your corporation is registered to do business in Arkansas. This can be done with your incorporation documentation.
File documentation with the Licensing Board of Arkansas that you have credit with a chartered or federally chartered bank in the state of Arkansas.