Growth Trends for Related Jobs
U.S. states closely regulate insurance companies and agents, and Maryland is no exception. The insurance industry in the state of Maryland is overseen by the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA). Getting your life insurance license in the state of Maryland is a multi-step process.
Register for and complete a state-approved pre-licensing program. The state of Maryland requires life insurance producers to enroll in a 60-hour pre-licensing program before taking the life insurance exam. There are several certified providers within the state, including many offering online programs. See Resources for a full list of providers.
Spend a few weeks preparing for the examination before registering for it. In order to pass the life insurance examination, you will need to exhibit a strong knowledge and understanding of Maryland's insurance laws, ethics and procedures.
Register with PSI to schedule your life insurance examination. PSI is the sole provider of Maryland insurance licensing tests. Contact PSI at (800) 733-9267 or see Resources for their website address. Provide your pre-licensing certificate or you won't be able to register for the exam.
Apply with the MIA to receive your life insurance license. The state fee is $54. You must include a copy of your passing test score and your pre-licensing course certificate. Most applications are processed within three to five business days.
The state of Maryland allows you to apply for your license online or by mail. See Resources to apply online or to download the application form.
- The state of Maryland allows you to apply for your license online or by mail. See Resources to apply online or to download the application form.
Leonardo R. Grabkowski has been writing professionally for more than four years. Grabkowski attended college in Oregon. He builds websites on the side and has a slight obsession with Drupal, Joomla and Wordpress.