Becoming a real estate agent in Tennessee requires applying for and receiving an Affiliate Broker license, the state's entry-level real estate license. Licensing requirements include a variety of educational, experiential and legal components.
Seven basic education and experience requirements must be fulfilled to receive an affiliate broker license in Tennessee. First, applicants must be at least 18 years old. Second, they must hold a high school diploma or GED. Third, they must complete 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework on real estate law. Fourth, they must pass the state examination. Fifth, they must complete 30 hours of coursework designed for new affiliates. Sixth, they must be affiliated with a licensed real estate broker in the state. Finally, they must submit their fingerprints along with their application.
Beyond the education and examination requirements, Tennessee also requires real estate agents to meet a few legal standards. First, the licensing commission asks applicants whether they have ever been subject to a complaint from a regulatory committee or lawsuit. This doesn't necessarily preclude licensure, but it does require additional investigation. The commission also asks applicants to disclose any criminal violations. No one on probation or parole is eligible to receive a license. Applicants must wait at least two years after completing a probationary or parole period to be considered for a license.