To get a real estate salesperson's license in the state of Washington, you must complete 60 clock hours of coursework. You can then take a state exam and apply for your license.
Education and Testing
The 60 hours of education centers on basic real estate fundamentals and practices. You will also learn specifics about property law in Washington. A broker applicant has to take an additional 30-hour course focused on real estate principles.
The next step is to take the state licensing exam. The exam must be taken within five years of the coursework. A broker has to pass the state broker's exam.
Candidates have to be 18 years old for either the salesperson or broker's license. Applicants must also possess a high school diploma or a state-equivalent level of education.
A background check is also required to ensure that licensees meet basic character and ethical requirements. Candidates must submit their fingerprints, and background checks are conducted by the Washington State Patrol and the FBI. A processing fee is required for the background check, but amounts vary by provider.
Additional Standard Requirements
To apply for a broker's license in Washington, you need two years of active sales experience in Washington or another state. Sales agent and broker's licenses are good for two years.
After getting a real estate license in Washington, you have the opportunity to become a Realtor. To do so, join a local office of the National Association of Realtors. Realtors have access to multiple listing services, contract forms and other marketing tools.
Washington does offer license reciprocation for salespeople who have active licenses in other states. The first step is to get a certified licensing history from the home state.
Applicants who have been active real estate agents in another state in the most recent six months only have to take the Washington state exam to get licensed. To apply for reciprocation, submit your application and documentation to the state Real Estate Licensing office in Olympia.